Now that abortion has been handed back to the states following the overturning of Roe v. Wade on Friday, several states have already announced that they will be outlawing the procedure with immediate effect.
Twenty-two states, however, already had laws or constitutional amendments in place. The laws include bans on abortion that were already in place before the Supreme Court’s 1973 decision in Roe protected abortion rights.
Other states have so-called “trigger laws” that would ban abortion in the event that Roe was overturned by the high court, and a dozen states would ban abortion after six weeks.
Abortion bans in Arkansas, Kentucky, Louisiana, Missouri, Oklahoma, South Dakota, Utah, and Alabama went into immediate effect. The laws make performing an abortion a felony punishable by years-long prison sentences. They do not make exceptions for rape or incest. However, women cannot be prosecuted for receiving an abortion under the laws.
Anyone who performs an abortion in Arkansas, Louisiana, and Oklahoma faces 10 years in prison unless the procedure is done to save the life of the pregnant woman. Arkansas and Louisiana also make exceptions for physicians to end ectopic pregnancies or treat miscarriages.
In Missouri, anyone who performs an abortion would face up to a 15-year jail sentence, unless the procedure is done in the case of a medical emergency.
Idaho, Tennessee, and Texas will implement abortion bans in 30 days, according to the text of the laws. Abortion bans in Mississippi, Missouri, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Utah, and Wyoming go into effect after the attorney general, governor or certain legislative bodies certify that the Supreme Court has done away with Roe.